Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Reports of bugs, possible bugs, and other flaws found in SAC

Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Postby jlepore » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:03 pm

This was my introduction to SAC.

First time running on the brand new system install (not mine, a local club). Nice quiet room, a bunch of senior citizens having an all time ballroom dance.
Until I did something (which I later was able to recreate here) that sent faders flying to +20db as I moved the mouse around the screen. How someone didn't die from a heart attack is beyond me - I know I certainly got blown back the first ... and second time it happened.

Only took months of blaming me, the system, my skills, etc. before it was finally found and fixed.

http://youtu.be/UfquGku7fUQ
Gigabyte H55-USB3 i5-650/4G/XP/SSD Profire 2626x3/ADAx2/MLA7x1 Motormix x2 AMP/SAC/SAWLite
User avatar
jlepore
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:35 am
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Postby gdougherty » Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:11 pm

Just to note, apparently it's not entirely fixed. Running 3.1 here and had a snare drum channel jump to +20 or so I assume. Suddenly had low feedback in the middle of a christmas eve service. Was adjusting snare channel. Grabbed several instrument, bass and drum master faders back. When I started to bring drum master back up, the snare fader was sitting 20-30db over the rest of the drum channels.

Could have been me or a tweaky mouse, but both have been before and remain stable after otherwise.
http://softwareaudioconsole.wikidot.com The start of a wiki. It's slow going and there's a ton of info that should be in there yet.
Biggest item is the Command Reference on how to do most actions within SAC. It's 90% of what you need for UI proficiency.

g is for George
gdougherty
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:10 pm
Location: Westminster, CO

Re: Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Postby RBIngraham » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:17 pm

Are you using group latches? (SACs sorry excuse for DCAs)

If so I have had random issues where one or more of the faders get out of sync for no reason and only reloading the mix session would fix it. It ussually manifests itself with some graphics glithes of faders.

Of course its not repeatable, so I never really bothered to pursue a bug report past an intial email.
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Postby jlepore » Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:12 pm

Holy crap - this bug is apparently BACK again....

http://www.sawstudiouser.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17831

And since I'm sure it will get deleted soon for breaking the rules and talking about bugs...

kylesoundman
SAC User Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 182

Pop up fader bug.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So in the middle of showing a guy who has never used SAC how to use it after agonizingly selling him on using it for their show. The pop up fader bug where adjusting gain on the eq, the aux sends, or even comp settings if brought all the way to the top will jump all the way to the lowest settings. I recall seeing other people with this issue. I am just curious to know if this has been something worked on and solved or is it some other factor I need to look into causing it?
__________________

Gigabyte H55-USB3 i5-650/4G/XP/SSD Profire 2626x3/ADAx2/MLA7x1 Motormix x2 AMP/SAC/SAWLite
User avatar
jlepore
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:35 am
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Postby Paul Henry » Sat Mar 28, 2015 2:29 pm

Paul Henry
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:30 am

Re: Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Postby RBIngraham » Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:40 pm

And then the coding master forgot that he in fact didn't fix all the issues... oppps.... secrets out...
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: Just for historical value - the +20db fader move!

Postby jlepore » Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:15 pm

Wow .. it's the same old shit.

1) It's just your system
2) "Thousands of shows a day" run without any problem - its just you
3) If it happens to multiple people - it's damn Windows, not my fault.

Very simple - code to the API and standards and these problems don't happen.
Hire a real programmer you fucking hack.
Gigabyte H55-USB3 i5-650/4G/XP/SSD Profire 2626x3/ADAx2/MLA7x1 Motormix x2 AMP/SAC/SAWLite
User avatar
jlepore
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:35 am
Location: Minneapolis, MN


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest