the wait is over

A place to discuss AMP - Audio Mixing Platform (http://www.ampmix.net)

Re: the wait is over

Postby BrentEvans » Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:34 pm

Re recording, I'd be looking for something that can record a discrete mix. I currently use 2 seasons of tapeit to record mix24 on SAC, which lets me separate the recording wherever I want very quickly. This is a necessary thing for me. I know it could be set up with a loopback, but it would be nice to keep it in the box.

Just out of curiosity, is there support for multiple different sound cards so could use something like VAC to link to other software in the box?
User avatar
BrentEvans
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:05 pm

Re: the wait is over

Postby Frank DeWitt » Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:22 pm

We use 10 in screen laptops for the IEMs (SAC legacy) and a 12 in touch tablet for walking around. There are a lot of choices but we tend to use

Image

Or

Image
Frank DeWitt
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:08 pm

Re: the wait is over

Postby shmick » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:58 pm

What is the interface? Is it a windows app? HTML5?
Host: ASUS P5Q SE/R, Intel E8400 O/C'd to 3.8ghz, 3 x RME HDSP 9652, XP Pro
Gear: 9 x ADA8K, 4 x Audiorails, 1 x BCF2000
Config: FOH + 12 stereo IEM mixes
Misc: Dual Linkwitz-Riley plugin, Studio Levelizer, Studio Reverb, Frequency Analyzer, SAWStudioLite
User avatar
shmick
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:55 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: the wait is over

Postby RBIngraham » Thu Jul 02, 2015 10:55 pm

Craig wrote:I'm probably buying anyway (if for no other reason, to try to push for VST). How would one use Live Professor with AMP to achieve the same thing?


I just use another computer and link the 2 sound cards digitally.
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: the wait is over

Postby RBIngraham » Thu Jul 02, 2015 10:59 pm

shmick wrote:What is the interface? Is it a windows app? HTML5?


Right now if is windows application only, just with a custom GUI for touch. The plan is eventually a browser based UI, so any wireless toy can be used. But that is down the road a piece.
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: the wait is over

Postby RBIngraham » Thu Jul 02, 2015 11:00 pm

BrentEvans wrote:Re recording, I'd be looking for something that can record a discrete mix. I currently use 2 seasons of tapeit to record mix24 on SAC, which lets me separate the recording wherever I want very quickly. This is a necessary thing for me. I know it could be set up with a loopback, but it would be nice to keep it in the box.

Just out of curiosity, is there support for multiple different sound cards so could use something like VAC to link to other software in the box?


Thats nof really there yet. You can easilly dona recording feed. For now I would just plug in a hardware recorder, ala a Zoom.
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: the wait is over

Postby BrentEvans » Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:06 am

RBIngraham wrote:
Thats nof really there yet. You can easilly dona recording feed. For now I would just plug in a hardware recorder, ala a Zoom.


Yeah, that's really not a great option. Does this virtual soundcheck thing allow recording of one or two inputs? I could ADAT loopback on a spare ADAT I/O and just record those input channels (which wouldn't be routed to anything, obviously).

Other than that, I think I'd rather do the loopback and record into reaper. Having a remotable interface would be REALLY nice, but VNC into reaper would work, just like VNC into tapeit has. External hardware recorders, or even a line into a separate PC is a step back IMHO.
User avatar
BrentEvans
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:05 pm

Re: the wait is over

Postby RBIngraham » Fri Jul 03, 2015 8:54 pm

BrentEvans wrote:
RBIngraham wrote:
Thats nof really there yet. You can easilly dona recording feed. For now I would just plug in a hardware recorder, ala a Zoom.


Yeah, that's really not a great option. Does this virtual soundcheck thing allow recording of one or two inputs? I could ADAT loopback on a spare ADAT I/O and just record those input channels (which wouldn't be routed to anything, obviously).

Other than that, I think I'd rather do the loopback and record into reaper. Having a remotable interface would be REALLY nice, but VNC into reaper would work, just like VNC into tapeit has. External hardware recorders, or even a line into a separate PC is a step back IMHO.


The host recording tool right now does not allow you to select tracks. It's all or nothing.

As for taking a step backwards I would disagree. To me putting all that kind of crap on the host that is mixing my live sound is just asking for trouble with loopbacks and multiple apps talking to the same hardware, blah, blah, blah... yeah it can work of course, but why risk it. What's so backwards about a nice little Zoom. You route to some outputs, you press record... it just works, no fuss, no muss... no bullshit and no worries that it might take down the mix engine or mess with the sample rate, etc...

One thing I've learned since going with AMP is that since it didn't have any reverbs at all when we first started is that just using some hardware once in a while is actually a good thing. It was actually kinda fun to blow off the dust on some effects processors and pick up a couple cheap on eBay and remember just how much better they can sound than many of the built in verbs and effects on all but the very latest generation of digital consoles.

But of course my reason for using the computer mixing thing in the first place has always been bang for the buck and mixing power, Not using a computer to mix just for the sake of using a computer. If I could afford the hardware consoles I really want I wouldn't be bothering and neither Bob would have ever heard of or from me. :D

But since I can't afford to run out and buy a LCS/Dmitri rig will all the surfaces and lots of I/O or a big boy Digico... I mix the shows with computer software.
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: the wait is over

Postby BrentEvans » Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:12 am

For one thing, I'd have to buy two zooms. It's extra hardware to set up which can't be remote controlled. Which means more cables to foh. All of the small format boards have it these days except the soundcrafts. It's been perfectly stable on a SAC host, even running two tapeits and reaper in the background. It's not like it can't be done. :)
User avatar
BrentEvans
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:05 pm

Re: the wait is over

Postby RBIngraham » Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:20 am

BrentEvans wrote:For one thing, I'd have to buy two zooms. It's extra hardware to set up which can't be remote controlled. Which means more cables to foh. All of the small format boards have it these days except the soundcrafts. It's been perfectly stable on a SAC host, even running two tapeits and reaper in the background. It's not like it can't be done. :)



I guess I can see if you don't already have one.... :-)

But you would not have to buy 2 Zooms.... you need to get out more and play with other gear... :-P Zoom has models that record 4 tracks and they have ones that do 6 as well. Of course they also just announced a pretty nice looking unit that is clearly going after the film/tv market that can record 8 simultaneous tracks and even a stereo mix down all within the unit. Of course it's almost $1K unit, but that is cheap compared to what it's going after.

Yes you are right, many boards have this now and I never said it wasn't something that has been discussed. I just said it's not there yet. It can record all the tracks right now and do a virtual sound check. I'm sure at some point he will create a GUI connection so you can have some control over what is and is not recorded. And of course discussing it here doesn't get it on the wish list so why not go to his own forum and ask that is be put on the wish list? :-)

p.s. I would never put stable and SAC in the same sentence. :lol:
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

PreviousNext

Return to AMP Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron