SAC 4.0 has arrived

Discussions about the use and operation of SAC (Software Audio Console)

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby mattseymour » Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:19 am

It's this last point that I'm particularly excited about. I've experienced a poor network connection bring the SAC gui to a standstill. Despite Bob L's work on making SAC more touch friendly, until you can safely wander out of wifi range with a tablet remote there's the potential to run into trouble.

What if Elton John's tour used SAC all round, the monitor guy wanders off stage with his tablet and FOH loses control until the connection is dropped. :shock:
mattseymour
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 2:42 am

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby jlepore » Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:38 am

Yes .. Others explanations of what I meant are correct. This is all with AMP, which is all I have been using for the last year.
Gigabyte H55-USB3 i5-650/4G/XP/SSD Profire 2626x3/ADAx2/MLA7x1 Motormix x2 AMP/SAC/SAWLite
User avatar
jlepore
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:35 am
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby RBIngraham » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:23 am

So I wonder how many versions of SAC 4.0 there will eventually be? That has got to be the most laziest thing I've seen, the fact that he won't even take the time to make proper version increments so you know what the hell you're actually running.
:roll:
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby randyhyde » Fri Jul 17, 2015 1:42 pm

RBIngraham wrote:So I wonder how many versions of SAC 4.0 there will eventually be? That has got to be the most laziest thing I've seen, the fact that he won't even take the time to make proper version increments so you know what the hell you're actually running.
:roll:


Nothing new, this has happened with v3.x versions as well. I remember making this same comment a year or two ago. If you're not going to change the version number when the code changes, having a version number is worthless (release date [and time, in this case] is your only indication of software version).

cheers,
Randy Hyde
randyhyde
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby BrentEvans » Fri Jul 17, 2015 1:56 pm

There have been a few cases where he released a quick fix the same day, but I can't recall it being four days later and still releasing quick fixes WITH NEW FEATURES and calling it the same version number... yeez.
User avatar
BrentEvans
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:05 pm

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby RBIngraham » Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:23 pm

Yes, well somehow version numbers in vegas must not be allowed to go past X.9... must me against the law to have a X.10 or X.14, etc... :-P
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby randyhyde » Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:24 pm

Well, I was real excited for the 3-unit Mackie support.
But don't you dare unplug one during operation -- it crashes SAC.

Needs to be documented, too.
If you connect them out of order (i.e., if you don't make the MCU Pro last in the chain), it messes things up big time.

Monitor view (very welcome addition), adds nearly 20% to the load factor. Not sure why. I wouldn't image that this affects the DSP processing (where the real work is at).

Cheers,
Randy Hyde
randyhyde
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby RBIngraham » Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:50 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol:

:horse:

Sorry, coulnd't help it...
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby randyhyde » Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:32 pm

Okay, after a couple of hours playing with SAC v4.0, all I can say is the following:

1) Paying $100 for a program that doesn't work is a *big* problem for me.
1a) SAC crashes if you turn off a control surface or unplug a MIDI cable during operation.
1b) If you hook up three Mackie units to SAC, performance crawls to a dead stop. Don't try resizing a mixer window, it will take 3-5 seconds to redraw.
2) Don't know if this is also control-surface related, but trying to set up a latch locks up the system for a *loooong* time.
3) Desperately needs documentation update (e.g., how to hook up control surfaces; it was trial and error [mostly error] before I got the Mackies to work).
4) While 3.1 (and earlier) mix files will work with 4.0, 4.0 files will not work with earlier versions. So if you have a crash during a show and need to switch back to 3.1 to finish the gig, you get to redo your mixes. Not a good feeling when working with alpha-quality software (and make no mistake, v4.0 is alpha quality).


While I wholeheartedly believe Bob should charge for decent feature upgrades, he should have *working* code before he ships if he's going to charge money for it.

People are falling all over themselves at the other board about how great this is. Me, I'm feeling really ripped off now. Definitely motivating me to try out AMP (which arrived yesterday).
Cheers,
Randy Hyde
randyhyde
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: SAC 4.0 has arrived

Postby RBIngraham » Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:56 pm

Wow, sorry to hear that Randy. I guess it doesn't really surprise me all that much. But it is still unfortunate. Either his months of use in the field was with kid gloves or whomever these testers were never wander from any kind of set up that hasn't been specifically shown to them by Bob. My gut says that his beta test team entails Bob himself and KUI and that's probably about it. Maybe Lee Pepper?

I don't think you can fault him for not making 4.0 files backwards compatible to 3.1 files. The real solution there is that 4.0 should be stable enough that you don't really feel the urge to ever want to go back to 3.1. But even the forward compatibility of going from 3.1 to 4.0 sounds like it doesn't really fully work. I've already seen mentions from Bob himself that certain display issues can creep up in conjuntion with open plug-in windows. To me that means that while 4.0 can open a 3.1 file, it's not really completely compatible. In other words there is probably no stamp in the SAC mix files that will tell SAC which version was the last version that saved the file and SAC isn't smart enough to know what it's opening and then do a conversion, which is what I would expect a new software version to do for most applications.
Richard B. Ingraham
RBI Computers and Audio
http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/
SAC details and goodies at: http://www.rbicompaudio.20m.com/SAC.html
RBIngraham
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

PreviousNext

Return to SAC Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron