Need help understanding what I need

Discussions about the use and operation of SAC (Software Audio Console)

Need help understanding what I need

Postby Koopdaddy » Sat Jun 30, 2012 12:37 pm

Hi,

I am new to SAC and I am trying to figure out if this is a viable option for an installed system in my Church. We are looking for a 32 input x 16 output digital snake and mixing solution. We also need compressors/gates, re-verb, and eq processing.

I understand with sac we need a pc. I also know we would need an interface and some mic pre's. What I am not understanding is this:
1. How do I route my sends (aux and monitor feeds)? If the mic pres are used for the inputs, where do the outputs get routed?
2. Does SAC include FX processing (compressor, gates, eq, re-verb, etc) or do I still need to patch in outboard processors? If so where do they patch in?
3. What is the interface between components and the computer? If i have the mic pres on stage is it a cat5 connection back to FOH?

I apologize if this is basic, but I am just not understanding the signal path for this. Trying to figure out how much I need in order to properly budget it.

Based on what I have read and has been suggested to me by others am I headed in the right direction with this:

MOTU 2408mk3 Interface x 2
Focusrite OptePre MkII Dymanic x 4
FocusRite Saffire Pro 40 x 2
Wireless Router x 1
Desktop Computer or Laptop
Equipment Rack
SAC SOftware

What am I missing or not doing right?

Do I have to use SAW to do multichannel recording with SAC? Or can I use any DAW (reaper, protools, etc)? Does it require a separate computer to record?

Looking forward to any help you can provide me.

I hope that made sense and please correct me if I am misunderstanding something.
Jared
Koopdaddy

Re: Need help understanding what I need

Postby mattseymour » Sun Jul 01, 2012 2:53 am